• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5 other followers

Stash Scarf

I spent a longer-than-usual amount of time in my hometown in the burbs of Ontario, which means a) a lot of fancy cable watching (I’m now fully caught-up on my Dollhouse. Which, it has to be said, has finally started to kick ass. Thank you, Joss.) and b) a lot of knitting. I’m trying to commit to carve away at my stash this year, so I grabbed a few balls before I headed east and decided to knit this scarf up for my gift closet.

It’s a fairly simple pattern I’ve done in various iterations over the years. Here’s the deets:

Materials

Approx 150 yards superbulky yarn

Approx 150 yards baby-weight yarn in accent colour, like Stampato Color Baby (50 g, 196 yards) in pink.

15 mm needles

Gauge: 5-6 stitches/4 inches

Instructions

Holding both yarns together, CO 11 sts.

Row 1-3: Knit

Row 4: *K1, YF, repeat from * to last stitch, K.

Row 5: Knit all of the K stitches, and drop the YFs off the needle. This will result in “long” stitches across this row.

Repeat rows 1-5 until scarf is desired length. Cast off. My new favourite cast-off method is Elizabeth Zimmerman’s sewn cast off for a non-flared edge on the scarf. There’s a great illustration of it here: http://knitty.com/ISSUEsummer06/FEATsum06TT.html

**

One last hit on Dollhouse. I think even my seven-month old nephew Matthew was high-fiving me when Adele came out of the closet as a good guy. Seriously dudes. So. Good. This scarf is infused with its goodness.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for the pattern! Love it. Perfect for an xmas gift for the mother-inlaw. :)

  2. Glad it worked out! It’s perfect for a quickie gift :)

  3. […] Quin at Knitting in the Buff combines a bulky and a finer yarn for fun texture in her Stash Scarf, while Andre Sue used a bit of Noro and some other yarn for a lovely Chevron Scarf. And speaking of […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

